Congratulations to the ALA Youth Media Awards Winners and Honorees

A huge CONGRATULATIONS to the Latin@ authors and  books that were recognized at this year’s ALA Youth Media Awards.


Here are the winners and honor books:

Pura Belpré Award (Illustrator) honoring a Latino writer and illustrator whose children’s books best portray, affirm, and celebrate the Latino cultural experience.



Honor Books:

18296043 16667896 18405521

Pura Belpré Award (Author) honoring Latino authors whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience:


Honor Book:


William C. Morris Award for a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens:


Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children. The Caldecott Honor Books included:

18967185 20518948

 Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award for most distinguished informational book for children. The Sibert Honor Books included:


2016 May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Award recognizing an author, critic, librarian, historian or teacher of children’s literature, who then presents a lecture at a winning host site.

Winner: Pat Mora: “Pioneering author and literacy advocate Pat Mora has written more than three dozen books for young people that represent the Mexican American experience.”